2010/2011 Season Thread

framheim

It depends on whether they follow the league and watch games though? If someone takes a keen interest in Bundesliga and Ligue 1 why shouldn't they start to follow a team? As I said before merely "following" a team can over time turn into a strong link to and passion for a club.

I never really followed La Liga when I lived in the UK but since I've been living in Spain I've built a strong connection to Barcelona and although my passion for them isn't as strong as it is for Aberdeen I wouldn't say it's any less genuine. Nor is my passion for Chelsea who I picked just because all the kids at primary school picked an English team.

I can't agree with this. In order to be a supporter of a fitba team imo you must a) come from the area, or b) have them in your blood from birth (your dad supports them, for example). Just randomly selecting a team because your school pals did means that you have no relationship with the club's history, supporters etc. They may as well be anyone. It also means that you are likely to select a relatively successful / high profile team because of increased exposure.

Scottish people feeling passionately about a foreign team is peculiar, and smacks of a desperation to fit in despite their being no apparent traditions / bonds with which they can identify. This is not strictly a Scottish phenomenon; the Welsh, Irish and many more 'lesser' footballing nations have their share of disillusioned people who would rather hunt the glory of a team of randoms than follow their local team through thick and thin. However, imo, finding pleasure in the success of a foreign team with whom you have no direct affiliation is hollow in the extreme.

Ben Thornley's Wikipedia amuses me. It's like an actual step-by-step diagram of a player's career going from the big leagues to utter obscurity.

19931998 Manchester United

1995 ? Stockport County (loan)

19961998 ? Huddersfield Town (loan)

19982001 Huddersfield Town

20012002 Aberdeen

20022003 Blackpool

20032004 Bury

2004 Halifax Town

20052006 Bacup Borough

20062007 Salford City

2007? Wilmslow Albion

?? Witton Albion

My mate used to know him when he was up here, and most nights he would sit in the bar at Simpson's hotel getting fucking leathered then go to the casino next door at 3am for a fried breakfast. I'm no expert, but that may have played a part in him being shit.

Is she sure it was him? That could have been a number of players.

Pretty definite. I asked her to ascertain and confirm what his name was: "Ben Thorny or something."

I then whipped out my naked Aberdeen FC charity calendar from under my pillow and showed her a picture of Ben Thornley, wearing nothing but his birthday suit, holding a beach ball over his groin. Well, actually, it was a football. But proportionally, it looked like a beach ball.

And she confirmed it was him.

Obviously that story is a lie. I just showed her my regular Aberdeen FC calendar.

I never shared my charity calendar with anyone.

Ben Thornley's Wikipedia amuses me. It's like an actual step-by-step diagram of a player's career going from the big leagues to utter obscurity.

19931998 Manchester United

1995 ? Stockport County (loan)

19961998 ? Huddersfield Town (loan)

19982001 Huddersfield Town

20012002 Aberdeen

20022003 Blackpool

20032004 Bury

2004 Halifax Town

20052006 Bacup Borough

20062007 Salford City

2007? Wilmslow Albion

?? Witton Albion

My mate used to know him when he was up here, and most nights he would sit in the bar at Simpson's hotel getting fucking leathered then go to the casino next door at 3am for a fried breakfast. I'm no expert, but that may have played a part in him being shit.

I'd say it was more down to him being really crap at football.

I can't agree with this. In order to be a supporter of a fitba team imo you must a) come from the area, or b) have them in your blood from birth (your dad supports them, for example). Just randomly selecting a team because your school pals did means that you have no relationship with the club's history, supporters etc. They may as well be anyone. It also means that you are likely to select a relatively successful / high profile team because of increased exposure.

Scottish people feeling passionately about a foreign team is peculiar, and smacks of a desperation to fit in despite their being no apparent traditions / bonds with which they can identify. This is not strictly a Scottish phenomenon; the Welsh, Irish and many more 'lesser' footballing nations have their share of disillusioned people who would rather hunt the glory of a team of randoms than follow their local team through thick and thin. However, imo, finding pleasure in the success of a foreign team with whom you have no direct affiliation is hollow in the extreme.

Disagree one thousand per cent. I don't think you can realistically apply rules to supporting a football team. You pick whoever you want. As long you're not a fickle cunt and keep changing your team, then you stick with them and support them. The whole blood relation thing is daft. What if your parents don't even like football? My dads for of a rugby league man, and my mum is a woman and women don't like football. As I said before, this 'local team' thing is a very out dated logic, and it really isn't that black and white. Picking the team you like best is no more hollow than supporting a team because you 'have' to, because they are the closest team to you. If you live out in the country, and your closest football club is 100 miles away, what sort of affiliation do you have with them? None. Just as much as picking your team from a Merlin sticker album. The emotional connection develops, the more you watch your chosen team.

A friend I went to college with chose to be a United fan (despite being born in Hull) because his step dad was a Man City fan, and he thought he was a cunt. He still goes to every home game, jaunts around Europe too, and has done for years. I wouldn't say he's not a supporter...

Agree. Although I have seen examples of people who have moved to an area, started going along to the local team etc and becoming very passionate about them.

Disagree one thousand per cent. I don't think you can realistically apply rules to supporting a football team. You pick whoever you want. As long you're not a fickle cunt and keep changing your team, then you stick with them and support them. The whole blood relation thing is daft. What if your parents don't even like football? My dads for of a rugby league man, and my mum is a woman and women don't like football. As I said before, this 'local team' thing is a very out dated logic, and it really isn't that black and white. Picking the team you like best is no more hollow than supporting a team because you 'have' to, because they are the closest team to you. If you live out in the country, and your closest football club is 100 miles away, what sort of affiliation do you have with them? None. Just as much as picking your team from a Merlin sticker album. The emotional connection develops, the more you watch your chosen team.

I was about to reply to the same post, but this more or less sums up what I would have said. For me a connection with a football team is definitely something that grows rather than something you automatically acquire by choosing a team the "correct" way.

Just to aid everyone's hatred of Rangers before tonight's encounter, here's an ace video which highlights why everyone hates Rangers. Dirty, filthy, cheating minks. Aberdeen are no angels in this game, but Rangers take it to extreme levels. Sendings off, pitch invasion, players being hauled off the park mid-game, Rangers supporters being stretchered away, and, most of all, Aberdeen piss all over them threee fucking nil. Get it up ye.

I love football:

As I said before, this 'local team' thing is a very out dated logic, and it really isn't that black and white. Picking the team you like best is no more hollow than supporting a team because you 'have' to , because they are the closest team to you. If you live out in the country, and your closest football club is 100 miles away, what sort of affiliation do you have with them? None. Just as much as picking your team from a Merlin sticker album. The emotional connection develops, the more you watch your chosen team.

A friend I went to college with chose to be a United fan (despite being born in Hull) because his step dad was a Man City fan, and he thought he was a cunt. He still goes to every home game, jaunts around Europe too, and has done for years. I wouldn't say he's not a supporter...

Aye, but the reason kids like Team X best is because they're normally successful and constantly in the spotlight. It's no wonder that Scotland is experiencing a generation of gloryhunting wannabe English fans, because these over-exposed, glamorous EPL clubs are the teams that kids are latching onto. The kids make them 'their team', and to hell with the boring local side.

I cannot agree that the emotional bond develops the more you watch your chosen team either. Sure, an affection might develop if I decided to Sky+ every Arsenal game if I decided I wanted to follow them, but ultimately the lack of immediate affiliation beyond this affected and insincere bond would stop me short of revelling in any of their success. Enjoyment? Yes. Emotion? Nae chance.

As for your friend, the Man U fan; I wonder if he'd be so loyal to Rovers if his step-dad had been a Bristol City fan (or whoever). Hypothetical, obviously, but it's a helluva lot easier to show loyalty to a successful team. I'm not saying this would be the case - I've never met the loon. Just musin'.

Just to aid everyone's hatred of Rangers before tonight's encounter, here's an ace video which highlights why everyone hates Rangers. Dirty, filthy, cheating minks. Aberdeen are no angels in this game, but Rangers take it to extreme levels. Sendings off, pitch invasion, players being hauled off the park mid-game, Rangers supporters being stretchered away, and, most of all, Aberdeen piss all over them threee fucking nil. Get it up ye.

I love football:

Craig 'media darling' Patterson is a fucken scumbag.

I love football:

The refereeing in that game looks ridiculous. Couple of challenges early on that look terrible, but go unpunished, then the two straight red cards look nowhere near as bad. I didn't have the sound on, so perhaps they made the challenges then said "ref, you're a cunt, and I shagged your mum last night".

Hopefully I'm not the only one here sad enough to be "friends" with him on Facebook?

I was actually friends with him in REAL LIFE as well as Facebook.

I worked for AFC doing admin in 2001/2002 and my desk was located in the football admin office so all the players would regularly come by. "Euge" and I had a fucking handshake with finger clicks and everything.

I also watched the TV coverage of the twin towers coming down with Ben Thornley.

On top of all that fun I was Angus the Bull on a number of occasions.

I have so many other claims to AFC fame I might have to write a book.

I was actually friends with him in REAL LIFE as well as Facebook.

I worked for AFC doing admin in 2001/2002 and my desk was located in the football admin office so all the players would regularly come by. "Euge" and I had a fucking handshake with finger clicks and everything.

I also watched the TV coverage of the twin towers coming down with Ben Thornley.

On top of all that fun I was Angus the Bull on a number of occasions.

I have so many other claims to AFC fame I might have to write a book.

I once met Brian Irvine in New Deer Church. Beat that mo'fo'.

YOU FUCKEN WERE NOT! OMG I AM JEALARSE! Being Angus is my dream job, seriously. I would give an awful lot of money to don the costume just one time

I was mainly the daytime Angus doing the unglamorous shifts at the children's hospital, school fun days and the likes. I only did 5 games, 4 of which we won (probably around the 9-home-games-in-a-row heyday!). My finest day out was when I was recalled as one-off character Crackers the Parrot. I had to take Angus on in a race, a game of football and pen shoot out (all of which were rigged for Angus to win). I still managed to slot away a penalty and then do a Klinsmann dive infront of the Merkland. Was around the time of Bird Flu which added to the glorious banter.

Reading the BBC text updates, sounds like a thrilling match at Old Trafford :rolleyes:

Panathinaikos scored a goal from a long ball as simple as that Germany goal against England in the world cup. Puyol has had a couple of great seasons but he can really seem off the pace now. Messi's second goal was wonderful.