AKA The Fox

psydoll

Tonight at Lemon Tree I caught AKA The Fox who I've planned to see for ages but have never quite managed it for various reasons. Holy shit. IMMENSELY impressed with them - not as indie as I'd been led to believe, more rocking than I'd been led to believe and just generally an entertaining and rocking band. Thumbs up guys for a great set. I never thought I'd enjoy a cover of that song almost as much as the original! Can't wait for the Snafu gig now and good luck with the Bloc Party aftershow tomorrow! :up:

• Replies 57

I've seen them so many times that I couldn't summon up the enthusiasm to hang around long enough after work to see them last night, headed off around 10.45.

But everything you say about them is spot on Psydoll, I take it the cover was Wanna Be Your Dog? I usually lose it to that. I look forward to seeing them at Snafu in couple of Sundays time.

And they've made the T Break heats too, so good luck to them with that.

Did no one else go or something? Has no one anything else to say on them?

*Here begins the search for mp3s*

Ha' date=' wasting your time here mate, we are below most people's radar on these boards, feel free to contact us on [email']akathefox@hotmail.com about anything. There will be recordings available on limited-ish release soon. Skuzzlebutt said he would send you a copy of an MP3 soon so hope that gets through.

Glad you liked it, was a good night, and the artists managed to break even. The Chateau/Brunswick Hotel party was proper decadence, most surreal moment was seeing Alex Kapranos playing Swingball with his mates in room in the Penthouse, indoor 70's sports the new rock n roll!? Seriously it was a fuckin great night, for music and socialising, as we were finished by 10:20 or so, could proceed on a decidedly uptempo evening.

I Know, funny that. Next gig is Sun 1st May@SNAFU, part of the Triptych thing, on quite early I think, will update when I know. Then there is Sun 8th May, King Tuts, T Break Heats, followed by Fri 21st@Drummonds, with Strobing Goat and Wildhouse fae Dundee. Hope y'all come down, and big up the cool auntie massif.

Yeah man, Steve was always there, but he's a rutter, not a strutter, of course here is where I point out that it wasn't A.K.A. the Fox then, but some awful name I can't bring myself to repeat, the 1st as AKA was round 1 BOB @ Drummonds.

I saw the gig at the Moorings, and I could hardly see Steve or Tina, or much of anything to be honest, that was some other band in my eyes. Good night though.

Someone seems to have taken offence to my status as Mondragon, must have seen my last solo show, can't say I blame them. Either that or they are affiliated with the Basque village of the same name, great people the Euskadi, but they don't like it if you fuck with their shit. To that hypothetical basque I say Mondragon Txapuldenaki!!

Yeah man' date=' Steve was always there, but he's a rutter, not a strutter, of course here is where I point out that it wasn't A.K.A. the Fox then, but some awful name I can't bring myself to repeat, the 1st as AKA was round 1 BOB @ Drummonds.

I saw the gig at the Moorings, and I could hardly see Steve or Tina, or much of anything to be honest, that was some other band in my eyes. Good night though.[/quote']

He must be a master of disguise as I first met steve a good few years back, and am 100% certain he wasn't jamming with the pre-incarnation of AKA the fox at the old moorings jams?! The first time I seen him with them was the first time I saw the laptop make an appearance....

He must be a master of disguise as I first met steve a good few years back' date=' and am 100% certain he wasn't jamming with the pre-incarnation of AKA the fox at the old moorings jams?! The first time I seen him with them was the first time I saw the laptop make an appearance....[/quote']

He fuckin well was. They played their very first gig at our Sunday Jam Session in 2003 and Steve was there then. He is the founder of the band to the best of my knowledge.

"The original line-up was Steve' date=' Brandon, and Tina. In the very early days Scott Cruickshank and Del Wilson played with them 2-3 times. In fact I recall Andy Phillip also playing guitar for them once."[/quote']

know what would make AKA THE FOX better?

me on Roland Td6 .

Flash- you ken aboot technical jiggery pokery, persuade these guys that me + drums = excellerango shenanigans+me + technology+instruments + click tracks = great time,

I need to come into this century with the new technology at my fingertips, fuck me! I am in 4 bands and still can't find anything remotely like ATOM FLASK who were the only Aberdeen band worth a fuck for long time. REVOLT NOW

iGGY pOP SEx pIStOLS pRODIGY Death in Vegas KLF the green fields at Glasto,John Peel,superstar DJs lets do it.