aberdeen-music

The inconsistency of the mods

Kai

You know, I hate to labour the point, but is it any wonder that people don't know which forum to post in when half the music-related threads on The Wasteland get moved elsewhere, while the remainder stay put?

I mean, check some of the threads that are on page one of The Wasteland:

Norman's Fetish

Kriss Kross

Soul Doubt

Sum 41

OK, so you could argue that some of these are just random threads that don't constitute serious music discussion, but the Norman's Fetish one is about a forthcoming gig, and we're not supposed to discuss gigs on here because it's bad apparently. ?(

Originally posted by tulip:

i'm fairly new to this Wasteland thing; why is it that we're not allowed music-esque threads? do feel free to enlighten.

Because The Wasteland is for all off-topic posts ONLY. i.e. the nonsense that doesn't belong in any of the other forums. There are plenty music-esque posts in the aptly named All Music Discussion forum.

However, I do agree about forum moderation being inconsistent. This is partially my fault for not giving the other forum moderators the guidance they need and also a little to do with the fact that I seem to be the only person that bothers to moderate The Wasteland forum (any of the moderators can move topics). As I'm not online all day long then obviously a number of topics will get missed and remain in the forum when they should in fact not be there.

Come the new web site I hope to address this issue among others. There will be new rules and guidelines fully published on the web site and changes to forum moderator assignments where necessary.

If we could provide a totally uniform, un-breakable method of moderating the forums, we'd have delegated the task to a computer by now.