aberdeen-music

Guitar modding

Lawy Lawson:Attorney

OK, I own one of these:

1089_pt.jpg

Ibanez GSA60.

Second hand, nay bad but nay great. I want to make it my project though, but I'm new at this. I'd really like somebody to explain modification to me. It lacks a strong bass sound and I'd like to know how to go about improving that. What do I need, how much will it cost to fit. What would a set on new tuning heads do?

OK' date=' I own one of these:

[img']http://www.feelmusic.fr/upload/1089_pt.jpg

Ibanez GSA60.

Second hand, nay bad but nay great. I want to make it my project though, but I'm new at this. I'd really like somebody to explain modification to me. It lacks a strong bass sound and I'd like to know how to go about improving that. What do I need, how much will it cost to fit. What would a set on new tuning heads do?

Give you more accurate tuning, hopefully. Quality tuners make it easier to tune the string spot on, assuming your guitar is fixed bridge. If they lock, a la sperzel or similar, then you can't accidentally knock them off tune.

Tone in an electric can be tricky though. Part of it comes from the pickup, part from the volume and tone control design (what pots are used, capacitors, etc), part from the level of the controls, part from the guage and quality of the strings, and the rest mostly from the design and construction of the guitar body (neck a little too). Varying any of them will alter tone, and it's worthwhile trying different gauges and makes of string until you find what you like the sound and feel of. Start with the simplest thing, then go forward. Changing the guitar body is essentially like buying another guitar, so ideally you want to start with a body construction and wood that gives the properties you're after.