aberdeen-music

Conservative 7 Billion Spending Cuts a Drop in Britain's Debt Ocean

Le Stu

I'm no expert in politics or economics, but was it a really really bad idea that we didn't join the Euro?

That's debatable. It would force fiscal discipline on our government but we'd be unable to allow a natural devaluation of the pound which would benefit our export sector and reign in consumer spending on imports.

Also, the ECB are ruining the Euro, just not half as much as we're debasing Sterling.

That's debatable. It would force fiscal discipline on our government but we'd be unable to allow a natural devaluation of the pound which would benefit our export sector and reign in consumer spending on imports.

Also, the ECB are ruining the Euro, just not half as much as we're debasing Sterling.

I always knew cricket was shit. :up:

If anything, they've shown that they're actually handling it well - the Euro hasn't suffered at all during the crisis, and they've shown restraint in letting new members into the 'club' - I thought they would try and accelerate the entry of the places like Estonia and Lithuania, but clearly not.

They've also managed to keep places like Ireland in the Euro when it looked like they might end up having to leave - so as far as I can tell, so far, so good.

If anything, they've shown that they're actually handling it well - the Euro hasn't suffered at all during the crisis, and they've shown restraint in letting new members into the 'club' - I thought they would try and accelerate the entry of the places like Estonia and Lithuania, but clearly not.

They've also managed to keep places like Ireland in the Euro when it looked like they might end up having to leave - so as far as I can tell, so far, so good.