framheim Posted March 12, 2008 Report Share Posted March 12, 2008 see booze has been hammered again, boo what does everyone make of it this year? does it affect you much? do you care? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
framheim Posted March 12, 2008 Author Report Share Posted March 12, 2008 and for those who need a link, here's one:BBC NEWS | Politics | At-a-glance: Budget 2008 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest idol_wild Posted March 12, 2008 Report Share Posted March 12, 2008 I never ever drink alcohol or smoke anyway.So I'm all good. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swingin' Ryan Posted March 12, 2008 Report Share Posted March 12, 2008 Caught about 20-minutes of it on BBC parliament then watched Cameron's response. It seemed pretty dedicated to green issues, but Darling's always got such a limp delivery that it always feels like he's just saying what he thinks people want to hear.I think David Cameron's response actually put the budget in a better light though, he always comes off as so pathetic it always makes the cabinet look better. He can't resist getting in a little cheeky public schoolboy-esque dig at any opportunity, you could tell he'd been thinking about that Ed Balls 'minister of children doesn't mean you have to act like a child' gag for about a month, he was positively beaming about getting it out.As for the fags and booze hike, it's to be expected really. It just makes it more annoying when people claim smokers are a 'drain on the NHS'. If the government aren't directing the money from tobacco taxes into the NHS it's not my fault! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stichman Posted March 17, 2008 Report Share Posted March 17, 2008 Th alchohol tax hikes are completely ridiculous. If Darling is going to try and justify it by claiming he's clamping down on binge drinking, he's having a laugh. The neds and old men that stagger past my flat at 1pm aren't cradling a 12 year Dalwhinnie or a nice bottle of Talisker. So why hike up whisky by 55p? I notice it's only bottles between 20 and 100 quid that this applies to, so whilt the wasters can keep stocking up on cheap vodka, the responsible drinker is punished. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
framheim Posted March 17, 2008 Author Report Share Posted March 17, 2008 Th alchohol tax hikes are completely ridiculous. If Darling is going to try and justify it by claiming he's clamping down on binge drinking, he's having a laugh. The neds and old men that stagger past my flat at 1pm aren't cradling a 12 year Dalwhinnie or a nice bottle of Talisker. So why hike up whisky by 55p? I notice it's only bottles between 20 and 100 quid that this applies to, so whilt the wasters can keep stocking up on cheap vodka, the responsible drinker is punished.yea i agree. i don't think just putting the price up is going to have any affect on binge drinking. people are still going to want to get fucked and will find a way to do that regardless of the price. they need to think about why people drink like that. unfortunately i don't think there's an easy answer. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Neutral Posted March 17, 2008 Report Share Posted March 17, 2008 I'm amazed that nobody has posted anything along the lines of "I'm no polish so i'm gettin hammered in taxis" or "they keep stealin us joabs" Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
framheim Posted March 17, 2008 Author Report Share Posted March 17, 2008 I'm amazed that nobody has posted anything along the lines of "I'm no polish so i'm gettin hammered in taxis" or "they keep stealin us joabs"why? (8 characters) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Neutral Posted March 17, 2008 Report Share Posted March 17, 2008 why? (8 characters)Becoz them poles be stealin us joabs and the taxi man is givin em money we dinna get ken fit like oh and they stole a jobflog em Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
davewarden Posted March 17, 2008 Report Share Posted March 17, 2008 Obviously ab-music users have an IQ of above 10 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Neutral Posted March 17, 2008 Report Share Posted March 17, 2008 Obviously ab-music users have an IQ of above 10And here was me thinking users of belmont-street.com or dnuk posted here...... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...