aberdeen-music

pre amp choice

spellchecker

i'm looking to get rid of the wee desk and buy a dedicated pre amp unit instead. its use is targeted primarily towards my condenser microphone, but i like the idea of having ts/trs connectors for putting other instruments too.

i've been looking with admiration at focusrite's trakmaster pro, and also other models on ebay like the voicemaster and the older penta 2u unit. they have built in compression/eq too, which appeals greatly.

at the moment i use my desk as a phantom power source really and try to leave the eq to software - but i'm not really happy with the pre-amp sound and think i can do a lot better, which is my wish for upgrading.

i read that the trakmaster pro and other focusrite introductory channel strips / preamps have SPDIF out. i have a m-audio delta 66 with 2 spdif connectors - does that mean that i could save a trs connector on my breakout box and use SPDIF instead? i've never used SPDIF before.

and what's the whole thing with wordclock and syncing...? i've never used that either, but i notice my line6 pod pro has wordclock syncing as well.

any other suggestions for preamp choice? top end of my budget is currently about 250 quid.

How many channels do you need?

You might get a semi decent 2 channel preamp for 250, but for an 8 channel you'd be looking at a grand.

I have a nice 2 channel valve preamp for sale. It has gain, pad, colouring, phantom power and nice old fashioned meters. It's less than a year old and has only been used 35x. Condition is as new and it's rack mountable.