Jump to content

The Darkness

Guest This Is Music

Recommended Posts

Guest This Is Music

Flamboyant rockers The Darkness have been named songwriters of the year at the 49th annual Ivor Novello Awards for British composers.

The four-piece with a taste for skintight catsuits, big hair and guitar solos, crowned a breakthrough year when they accepted their Ivor award at a London ceremony on Thursday.

Their debut album "Permission to Land" has sold well over one million copies in Britain and went gold in the United States in February.

Singer Dido was among the other winners, picking up the international hit of the year award for "White Flag", from her second album "Life for Rent".

Will Young, who won "Pop Idol" in 2002, picked up the best song award for his number one "Leave Right Now".

Rising star Amy Winehouse won the best contemporary song award with "Stronger Than Me", her jazzy debut single about having a passive boyfriend.

Moody quartet Radiohead picked up an international achievement award, while Motown legends Brian Holland, Lamont Dozier and Eddie Holland were given a special prize.

Composer Sir Richard Rodney Bennett won the classical music award.

The event was staged by the British Academy of Composers and Songwriters in association with the Performing Rights Society, a body which manages music royalties.

The Ivor Novello awards take their name from the Welsh actor, composer and playwright who was one of Britain's biggest stage and screen stars in the early part of the last century.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...