aberdeen-music

Feeler ........could be interested in good acoustic

bac

I've been playing electric guitar and bass for more years than I like to admit and never owned a decent acoustic. I'm giving serious thought to getting my hands on one.

I'm not an expert and could be flexible but my first thoughts are that I'd like something that's as close to an electric as possible in terms of playability without sacrificing tone. Probably small bodied, low action, might prefer a cutaway and suited to light-ish strings.

I'm being advised on-board electronics are not a good idea but an off-board preamp and transducer type arrangement as part of the package could be attractive.

Budget wise I'm flexible - the most important thing is that I feel confident I can sell it on for similar money if I find I'm never picking it up. I'd probably prefer something fairly high end but that's not set in stone.

The factory electrics on this model consists of a piezo under the bone part of the bridge and a pencil type pre-amp and socket powered by a 9v battery (it's a fishman gold) , there is no volume control or EQ on the guitar just a balanced output , plug into an outboard pre-amp or straight into the desk , if it sounds good enough for Eric I don't think anyone else will be dissapointed ;)

Thanks for the replies.

SCG I'm not 100% sure what you mean by a gibo dot but if you're thinking 335 or similar I have a 339. It's not very close to an acoustic though, I pretty much think of it in the same way as a solid body in terms of what you can play on it.

Kybosh I'm quite interested in the Martin, I will pm if I can work out how to on this new board.