aberdeen-music
Sign in to follow this  
Kaizen

Bloody sore index finger...

Ello all and merry christmas tomorrow =)

Basically, heres the story. I'm a student in aberdeen but live in edinburgh off-term. I only have and electric guitar up in the deen so ever since i got back, I've been playing lots of my acoustic, which i couldnt be arsed taking up with me. However, as acoustics are slightly tougher on the old fingers than electrics, ive developed a blister on my left index finger that has been there for a few days now and thus cant really play properly =( Any tips on not getting this again? Ways to build calluses quicker? I heard running your fingers over a candle flame can help toughen the skin, but i dunno.

Cheers!

Yes your right. Blisters are for pussies. If i was a real man, my body wouldnt have natural reactions... it just comes down to the fact that i litterally cant press it down any more... your body stops you from doing things like that...

helpful tips anyone?

Oh i should also say, its not just from normal playing, ive been learning ocean by john butler trio which has a lot of tapping on the high strings. A bit cutty.

Guest Hobo

Once its gone you might want to see about getting some latex gloves, you can either wear them whole or cut the finger tips off the fingers your having problems with.

Heres what I mean because the above sounds like rambling to me o_O

Use the tips of the fingers like fingertip sheaths, that way you can caress the strings with more pleasure. But please remember they can tear during the act of fingering so you might want to pop down to the finger pain cartel to pickup a multipack. You could try doubling up too.

yeah ta for the help everyone...

The more you use your fingers the tougher they'll become. Alternatively, you could piss in a mug and soak your fingertips in your own urine.

Seriously, let it heal, grow some balls and get back in the saddle. :up: