iconAll times are GMT. The time now is 14:01. | Welcome to aberdeen-music! Please register for free in order to access all areas of the web site and to post on our forums.

» Forums » Club & Venue Forums » Other Clubs & Venues » crap things about The Lemon Tree

Other Clubs & Venues This forum is for all discussion relating to the numerous other clubs and music venues in Aberdeen.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-12-2006, 17:36   #1 (permalink)
Biz

Biz is an ambassador of goodwill with 85 reputation points.Biz is an ambassador of goodwill with 85 reputation points.Biz is an ambassador of goodwill with 85 reputation points.Biz is an ambassador of goodwill with 85 reputation points.

bands: whichever has the most interesting offer
talents: Drums / percussion

Default crap things about The Lemon Tree

phoning them at 5 pm and being told doors will be open at 9pm, standing in the cold till 2106 without an apology.
I have had to stand in the cold and rain outside The Lemon Tree once too often, it really is shit after having to wait for the busses which are equally inept at sticking to their schedules. Whilst standing around shivering I had the entertainment laid on by two neds shagging in the back of the bus which had just stopped outside the front door.

The super stinky chemicals they use in the brochure are horrendous.

I couldn't help noticing TV21 were also 6 minutes late on stage, but well worth waiting for, but those vents in the ceiling pouring out cold air up the back and at the bar put an end to my enjoyment of The Undertones, my feet were frozen so I went to another pub to get warmed up.

Having to stand all night is shite tae, a few seats up the back would be appreciated, if it wasn't so bloody cold, mind you the seats were very uncomfortable so it's nae big loss.
The price of tickets is getting out of hand too.
Biz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-12-2006, 18:09   #2 (permalink)
Neutral

They do the best they can.

6 minutes? lol impatient or what, consider your watch was wrong
Old 04-12-2006, 18:33   #3 (permalink)

Metarie is a helpful contributor with 31 reputation points.Metarie is a helpful contributor with 31 reputation points.

Female

Hmm, I was working behind the bar on saturday and I'm sure we opened on time. If the doors opened late it was only by 5 minutes because half of our staff hadn't shown up. I know that's not your problem but I'm just letting you know. I think the reason you were probably outside for a while was because the door staff have to ID folk and take tickets, all of which takes time. plus I have to say that anyone who queues outside on a night like Saturday gets no sympathy from me at all, it makes no difference to where you'll end up standing for the gig.
The AirCon was pre emptive because on sold out nights (like Saturday) it gets appallingly hot and can in some cases fuck up the cooler for beer. All you have to do is ask a member of staff to turn it down and we will and if we don't it's for your own good, unless you like lager which is 75% foam and takes 5 minutes to pour.
There are usually seats in the back unless the gig is sold out, in which case it's assumed that people are there for the music and not for a seat. You wouldn't be able to see the stage sitting anyway.

Last edited by Metarie; 04-12-2006 at 18:37.
Metarie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2006, 19:14   #4 (permalink)

Forsythia is on a distinguished road with 10 reputation points.

Female
bands: I'm part of the DreamTeam DJ duo..names subject to change on weekly basis.
talents: Castanettes

Hmmm yes......every time a gig is there i ssssssigh.
Such a dull place. SOME (not all) of the staff (more those beyond the bar) are pretty rude, far too defensive and petty over tiny things. Power goes to some folk's heads which is pitiful. The place should be vibrant and laid back...and this IS possible without being overly regimented about too many things..... Lighten up!
Forsythia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2006, 19:16   #5 (permalink)

Forsythia is on a distinguished road with 10 reputation points.

Female
bands: I'm part of the DreamTeam DJ duo..names subject to change on weekly basis.
talents: Castanettes

oops didn't mean the BAR staff were rude....just certain others beyond that area. ie. not working at the bar...though haven't been there for a couple of months so that may have changed too.....Box office hours are useless too at times.
Forsythia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2006, 20:11   #6 (permalink)

Metarie is a helpful contributor with 31 reputation points.Metarie is a helpful contributor with 31 reputation points.

Female

you can buy tickets online now, but i take your point about the atmosphere.
I think I'm far too defensive of the Tree, I feel like someone needs to be on it's side
Metarie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 13:57   #7 (permalink)
Biz

Biz is an ambassador of goodwill with 85 reputation points.Biz is an ambassador of goodwill with 85 reputation points.Biz is an ambassador of goodwill with 85 reputation points.Biz is an ambassador of goodwill with 85 reputation points.

bands: whichever has the most interesting offer
talents: Drums / percussion

Default Hmmm, not a great attitude to have with the paying public.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Singingstarfish View Post
Hmm, I was working behind the bar on saturday and I'm sure we opened on time. NO YOU NEVER.

If the doors opened late it was only by 5 minutes because half of our staff hadn't shown up. I know that's not your problem but I'm just letting you know. THIS WAS MY PROBLEM, HENCE THE POST.

I think the reason you were probably outside for a while was because the door staff have to ID folk and take tickets, NO, UNTRUE, I WAS FIRST IN THE QUEUE.
all of which takes time. plus I have to say that anyone who queues outside on a night like Saturday gets no sympathy from me at all, it makes no difference to where you'll end up standing for the gig. NO SYMPATHY FOR THE PAYING PUBLIC? OH DEAR.

The AirCon was pre emptive because on sold out nights (like Saturday) it gets appallingly hot and can in some cases fuck up the cooler for beer. All you have to do is ask a member of staff to turn it down and we will and if we don't it's for your own good, unless you like lager which is 75% foam and takes 5 minutes to pour. TALK TO DRUMMONDS, THE MOORINGS, MOSHULU AND THE TUNNELS, THEY KNOW HOW TO GET IT RIGHT.

There are usually seats in the back unless the gig is sold out, in which case it's assumed that people are there for the music and not for a seat. You wouldn't be able to see the stage sitting anyway.
YES I WAS THERE FOR THE MUSIC, AND I HAVE SAT BESIDE THE DJ BOOTH AND ENJOYED MANY FINE GIGS. MY REASON FOR SHOWING UP EARLY WAS TO GET A SEAT AS I HAVE BACK PROBLEMS AND CAN NOT STAND FOR LONG PERIODS, BEING MADE TO STAND IN THE COLD, ( AFTER PREVIOUSLY HIGHLIGHTING THIS PROBLEM ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS ) IS PRETTY CRAP REALLY, AND SHOWS A LACK OF RESPECT FOR PUNTERS LIKE ME WHO REGULARLY ATTEND GIGS.
Biz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 14:07   #8 (permalink)

Spoonie is an honor to be around with 122 reputation points.Spoonie is an honor to be around with 122 reputation points.Spoonie is an honor to be around with 122 reputation points.Spoonie is an honor to be around with 122 reputation points.Spoonie is an honor to be around with 122 reputation points.

Male
bands: FeSTR
talents: bass

at least once you get inside, you can sip on a nice cheap pint and enjoy the music...........oh, wait!

/x
Spoonie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 14:21   #9 (permalink)

The Kernel Loaf is a helpful contributor with 30 reputation points.The Kernel Loaf is a helpful contributor with 30 reputation points.

Male

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spoonie View Post
at least once you get inside, you can sip on a nice cheap pint and enjoy the music...........oh, wait!

/x

haha lolz
The Kernel Loaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 17:57   #10 (permalink)

Jamie is on a distinguished road with 14 reputation points.

Male

Quote:
Originally Posted by Forsythia View Post
oops didn't mean the BAR staff were rude....just certain others beyond that area. ie. not working at the bar...though haven't been there for a couple of months so that may have changed too.....Box office hours are useless too at times.

Sorry to hear you aren't liking the place. Not sure about your point about the Box Office opening though - the opening times are the same pretty much through-out the year, so either they are useless or they aren't, but can't see how they are useless "at times". What would be your ideal opening hours?

As Singing Star Fish says you can book on-line now, and most of the shows are available to buy through Ticket Master outlets.
Jamie is offline   Reply With Quote