iconAll times are GMT. The time now is 04:56. | Welcome to aberdeen-music! Please register for free in order to access all areas of the web site and to post on our forums.

» Forums » Main Forums » Musicians' Corner » Your first guitar / Recommend a guitar for a beginner?

Musicians' Corner Want to discuss what the best guitar amp is or want to offer some advice on playing live? Then please post these kinds of topics in this forum.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 24-01-2007, 12:46   #21 (permalink)
Gasss

I learned to play with one of these and a 30 year old copy of Bert Weedon's "Play in a day"

If was starting again today, I'd go for a Squier Custom Tele II

Last edited by Gasss; 24-01-2007 at 12:52.
Sponsored Links
Old 24-01-2007, 13:21   #22 (permalink)

Diesel is an honor to be around with 149 reputation points.Diesel is an honor to be around with 149 reputation points.Diesel is an honor to be around with 149 reputation points.Diesel is an honor to be around with 149 reputation points.Diesel is an honor to be around with 149 reputation points.Diesel is an honor to be around with 149 reputation points.

Male
bands: HeadRush
talents: Guitar, Vocals

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gasss View Post
I learned to play with one of these and a 30 year old copy of Bert Weedon's "Play in a day"

If was starting again today, I'd go for a Squier Custom Tele II
Bert Weedon - a true legend !!!

I remember him being on the telly and my dad saying "Wow! he's good, bet you wish you could play like that instead of thon racket you make".

In response, I got out my Aria Strat & HH Combo and did the solo for "Highway Star"

"Pish" was my dad's assessment of my near-perfect rendition of the Blackmore classic.

"Fuckin' punk rock shite that, who do you think you are?? - Sid Rotten??"

Yes, my dear pater, a man with his finger firmly on the pulse.

(he's got nae pulse noo tho' - coz he's DEID - pick that oot ya auld cunt!!!)

Last edited by Diesel; 24-01-2007 at 13:26.
Diesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2007, 14:36   #23 (permalink)
DustyDeviada

He didn't stick his foot through the telly when the Bill Grundy show was on did he?
Old 24-01-2007, 16:32   #24 (permalink)

Hogisbald is a name known to all with 155 reputation points.Hogisbald is a name known to all with 155 reputation points.Hogisbald is a name known to all with 155 reputation points.Hogisbald is a name known to all with 155 reputation points.Hogisbald is a name known to all with 155 reputation points.Hogisbald is a name known to all with 155 reputation points.

Male
bands: Element 106 and solo stuff
talents: Guitar

Get a BC RIch Mockingbird. I have had mine for 13 years.
Hogisbald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2007, 19:05   #25 (permalink)

Neill is on a distinguished road with 10 reputation points.

Male

Quote:
Originally Posted by DustyDeviada View Post
Well, Squiers only started being made about 84 so I guess it was a Fender.
Ah well my memory isn't as bad as I thought! I recalled it being a Fender but then thought nah, couldn't be...
Neill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2007, 23:03   #26 (permalink)

Toasty is a helpful contributor with 25 reputation points.

Male
bands: Ablach
talents: Drums

Send a message via MSN to Toasty

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hog View Post
Get a BC RIch Mockingbird. I have had mine for 13 years.
. . . and your still learning to play
Toasty is offline   Reply With Quote