iconAll times are GMT. The time now is 20:26. | Welcome to aberdeen-music! Please register for free in order to access all areas of the web site and to post on our forums.

» Forums » Main Forums » Musicians' Corner » My bass amp...

Musicians' Corner Want to discuss what the best guitar amp is or want to offer some advice on playing live? Then please post these kinds of topics in this forum.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-09-2003, 12:41   #1 (permalink)

Adam Easy Wishes is a helpful contributor with 49 reputation points.Adam Easy Wishes is a helpful contributor with 49 reputation points.

Male
bands: 10 Easy Wishes.
talents: Piano / Violin / Bass

Send a message via MSN to Adam Easy Wishes Send a message via Skype™ to Adam Easy Wishes
Default My bass amp...

My bass amp (a Marshall B-150) broke like six months ago - just stopped working. I had it repaired in R&B, but ever since, it hasn't been nearly as loud as it should be. I only really noticed when I was away on tour.

Any suggestions as what it might be? Just something simple? Or should I just take it back into the shop..?
Adam Easy Wishes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2003, 00:04   #2 (permalink)

bands: eric euan!!!!!
talents: bass?

Send a message via AIM to SHAWN THE OX

Your main problem is
YOU OWN A MARSHAL AMP!
They tend to brake down without warning
Then don’t fix right
Buy a Peavey or a Laney or if your flush an AMPEG A real workhorse amp
Stick your marshal on EBAY and get a trustworthy amp

MARSHAL thrive on the fact that people see rock stars using them
But rock star stuff is handmade in England but the stuff you buy in the shops is cheesy mass-produced units churned out in Korea or India or something
But it must be cool its marshal.
you'v found out the hard way my freind

were playing the same fudge thing next Thur c u there

Interesting fact from the OX
Jim Marshal sacked his own SON then married his sons wife so he is his owns grandchildren’s step dad!!!!
SHAWN THE OX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2003, 12:08   #3 (permalink)

soundian is well respected with 71 reputation points.soundian is well respected with 71 reputation points.soundian is well respected with 71 reputation points.

Quote:
Originally posted by SHAWN THE OX
Buy a Peavey or a Laney
Don't buy combos though, Peavey combos are evil and shouldn't be allowed out in public without an armed guard. The only Laneys I've heard sucked ass too.
soundian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2003, 14:16   #4 (permalink)

GraemeC is a helpful contributor with 42 reputation points.GraemeC is a helpful contributor with 42 reputation points.

bands: Mr Onz
talents: Bass, but nae as good as Spoonie

You keep saying peavey combo's are shit...theres nowt wrong with my one!!
GraemeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2003, 17:29   #5 (permalink)
Tav

Tav is on a distinguished road with 10 reputation points.

bands: The Necatrines
talents: Guitar, Bass

Send a message via MSN to Tav

Quote:
Originally posted by GraemeC
You keep saying peavey combo's are shit...theres nowt wrong with my one!!
I played a TNT 115 once and thought it was ok. The Firebass 700 at toms is a fine amp head!
Tav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2003, 18:18   #6 (permalink)
Dresden Style

dont listen to em Adam

get your Marshall fixed and save a load of cash for other stuff is my advice like .... just tell em its low on power and they should know how to fix it

especially if you like the sound of the Marshall

if it what you used on your sharks ep thingy, then its a good bass sound, and a good bass sound is rare

our bass player uses an old marshall superbass head he got for 150 quid....and its the best thing hes ever used. He abuses it with effects pedals and it goes everywhere we go and usually played at full blast....its 15 years old at least and shows no signs of falling apart
Old 06-09-2003, 03:47   #7 (permalink)

soundian is well respected with 71 reputation points.soundian is well respected with 71 reputation points.soundian is well respected with 71 reputation points.

Quote:
Originally posted by Dresden Style
dont listen to em Adam

get your Marshall fixed and save a load of cash for other stuff is my advice like .... just tell em its low on power and they should know how to fix it

especially if you like the sound of the Marshall

if it what you used on your sharks ep thingy, then its a good bass sound, and a good bass sound is rare

our bass player uses an old marshall superbass head he got for 150 quid....and its the best thing hes ever used. He abuses it with effects pedals and it goes everywhere we go and usually played at full blast....its 15 years old at least and shows no signs of falling apart
Can I just pick out the words 'head' not 'combo' and ' 15 years old'. This is a really heavy case, can I rest it somewhere.
Old 06-09-2003, 18:17   #8 (permalink)
Dresden Style

Quote:
Originally posted by soundian
Can I just pick out the words 'head' not 'combo' and ' 15 years old'. This is a really heavy case, can I rest it somewhere.
agree a combo will not sound as good as head plus cab....but me point is that said chap shouldt fall into the trap of forking out for new gear if he dont need to just cos some people wanna frown on his equipment (chuckle).....especially having got a decent sound from his current amp

once you start changing your amps on a whim (like it needs a small fix) you just end up wasting a load of cash and usually ending up back where you started minus le cash

dunno if Marshalls have got worse over last 15 years either.....i had a JCM2000 a couple of years ago and it was solid as fuck, certainly no worse than other amps, and considerably better made my than my current vox or line 6 amps....the only reason i ditched it was down to it sounding too rrrrrrawk. And thats the only reason i would buy/sell and amp > to get a different type of sound

you sound guys hate my AC30.....TURN IT DOON TURN IT DOON!!!!

no sir

you turn your rubbish PA up!

*ducks for cover*

chortle
Old 07-09-2003, 04:35   #9 (permalink)

I agree that an AC30 sounds better cranked up, but why not get a power brake (or similar) which goes in-line between the amp output and the speaker. Same valve, slightly over-driven sound but at a volume where it doesn't bleed over all the other mics.

Especially since the vocals are so quiet.

*chortles back*

Last edited by soundian; 07-09-2003 at 04:37.
Old 07-09-2003, 13:36   #10 (permalink)
Dresden Style

Quote:
Originally posted by soundian
I agree that an AC30 sounds better cranked up, but why not get a power brake (or similar) which goes in-line between the amp output and the speaker. Same valve, slightly over-driven sound but at a volume where it doesn't bleed over all the other mics.

Especially since the vocals are so quiet.

*chortles back*

....you might be glad to know it only comes out for bigger venues now, when i can use two amps without causing oral offence

if we play Drummonds again ill be asking you (nicely) for two direct XLR outs from my cute wee stereo Line 6 amp (much more pub gig friendly....and set up to sound like 2 AC30s at full blast ....but quieter if you ken what i mean).......ive heard a lot of people say these amps are shit but it does the trick for me like and sounds better-er than the AC30 on our last rekording sessionette.......nu teknologie see......it also does fender-ish sounds too which im starting to like and me fookin neighbours defo like it better