iconAll times are GMT. The time now is 03:53. | Welcome to aberdeen-music! Please register for free in order to access all areas of the web site and to post on our forums.

» Forums » Main Forums » Music Discussion » Musical Tastes

Music Discussion The forum for music related discussion and debate both local and otherwise.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-04-2006, 20:08   #1 (permalink)

Brymon is an unknown quantity at this point with 7 reputation points.

Male
bands: Statue of Misery, Devil and the Angel
talents: Bass, and others!

Send a message via MSN to Brymon
Default Musical Tastes

Im really wanna know what people on this site look for in music.

I personnaly like anything, mainly metal. Although anything with a good tune, singing, growling, shouting, screaming, rapping, speaking.
Im not like one of these people that say they like all types of music when they really mean all popular stuff.

Ive all types of shit in my collection!

So please help me out and let me know!

Cheers.

P.S if a similar thread has been done before im sorry, i did nae ken!!!
Brymon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-04-2006, 20:24   #2 (permalink)

lynne is on a distinguished road with 10 reputation points.

Female
talents: None :(....Yet

i find it really hard to pin point what it is that attracts me to the songs i like. SOngs that can make me sing and dance are always a winner but there is so much more out there.......

i cant get enough of the fratellis at the moment
lynne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 21:39   #3 (permalink)

bryn is an unknown quantity at this point with 9 reputation points.

I'm fairly unrestrained and uninfluenced by magazines, websites, other people; lacking commitment to one specified 'genre' - a concept that often consists of a glue that binds genre and follower into a system of approval, elitism and subsequent limitation.

Generally when I'm 'looking' for music these days its usually something that will be some sort of advancement on my musical thought, if you like, and that is governed by whatever I may be listening to at that time, if you get me.

I also think I can define quite accurately what I do and don't like, purely because I understand the concept of 'like' and 'appreciate' - something that possibly defines, in some way, what listening to music as a musician is; you can't realistically expect musically un-educated people to have a very objective view.
bryn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 21:56   #4 (permalink)

...mole... is on a distinguished road with 17 reputation points.

Male

Send a message via MSN to ...mole...

i like to thik ive got a fairly open mind when it comes to listening to music whether i like it or not.
mostly i listen to progressive rock, some harder rock and metal as well such as steve vai, yngwie malmsteen dream theater etc.

also found myself listening to quite a bit of jazz and classical music lately
...mole... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 23:12   #5 (permalink)

Marc is on a distinguished road with 18 reputation points.

Male
bands: none
talents: drums (not very well) and guitar (kind of)

im really into indie music and like to pick up bands quite quick, like going to gigs when bands are really small, there always the best. People get the idea that ill listen to whatever nme says are good which is bullshit, theres a difference between liking bands that nme write about and liking bands coz nme write about them
Marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2006, 00:09   #6 (permalink)

Time Machine is on a distinguished road with 14 reputation points.

talents: Blowing bubbles from my mouth!

I just like a good tune, man!

Well there is that, but I usually know instantly what I like, whether it be dirty rock n roll or whatever. There's a definite SOUND that I like, or a groove, it's hard to pinpoint. If I could think of one tune at the moment that gets me everytime, it's 'Taste' by Ride, ironically, given the subject of the thread! That's my taste. Well, a taster of my taste anyway! 8)
Time Machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2006, 00:34   #7 (permalink)

Marc is on a distinguished road with 18 reputation points.

Male
bands: none
talents: drums (not very well) and guitar (kind of)

i think the lyrics have to be really good, a catchy song with good lyrics is alright when you first hear it but normally ends up annoying you after a while
Marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2006, 01:57   #8 (permalink)

Preid is on a distinguished road with 13 reputation points.

Male
talents: Guitar, Vocs

Anything but techno, french music and emo pish gets the thumbs up in my book
Preid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2006, 02:06   #9 (permalink)

Old Gold is a splendid one to behold with 794 reputation points.Old Gold is a splendid one to behold with 794 reputation points.Old Gold is a splendid one to behold with 794 reputation points.Old Gold is a splendid one to behold with 794 reputation points.Old Gold is a splendid one to behold with 794 reputation points.Old Gold is a splendid one to behold with 794 reputation points.Old Gold is a splendid one to behold with 794 reputation points.Old Gold is a splendid one to behold with 794 reputation points.Old Gold is a splendid one to behold with 794 reputation points.Old Gold is a splendid one to behold with 794 reputation points.Old Gold is a splendid one to behold with 794 reputation points.Old Gold is a splendid one to behold with 794 reputation points.Old Gold is a splendid one to behold with 794 reputation points.Old Gold is a splendid one to behold with 794 reputation points.Old Gold is a splendid one to behold with 794 reputation points.

Male

Quote:
Originally Posted by Preid
Anything but french music
Haha, right on.
Old Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2006, 02:20   #10 (permalink)

Metarie is a helpful contributor with 45 reputation points.Metarie is a helpful contributor with 45 reputation points.

Female

something with a bit of character - clever lyrics, unusual riffs or instruments, a sense of humour and piles of energy.
I'll listen to pretty much anything but I lean towards things with a good bass line and chorus you can scream along with.
Metarie is offline   Reply With Quote