iconAll times are GMT. The time now is 22:46. | Welcome to aberdeen-music! Please register for free in order to access all areas of the web site and to post on our forums.

» Forums » Main Forums » Gigs & Event Announcements » [GIG] The Sex Pistols Experience @ The Tunnels

Gigs & Event Announcements The forum for announcements and discussion regarding past and upcoming gigs, workshops and other events related to the local music scene.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-01-2007, 13:11   #1 (permalink)

JOHN BEVERLY is on a distinguished road with 13 reputation points.

Default [GIG] The Sex Pistols Experience @ The Tunnels

THE TUNNELS PRESENTS

THE SEX PISTOLS EXPERIENCE
www.sexpistolsexperience.co.uk

fri 23rd feb

8pm

admission tbc
JOHN BEVERLY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 10:40   #2 (permalink)
Biz

Biz is well respected with 70 reputation points.Biz is well respected with 70 reputation points.Biz is well respected with 70 reputation points.

bands: whichever has the most interesting offer
talents: Drums/percussion

this will rock

Last edited by Biz; 01-02-2007 at 11:29.
Biz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 11:29   #3 (permalink)

Jim Stax is well respected with 61 reputation points.Jim Stax is well respected with 61 reputation points.Jim Stax is well respected with 61 reputation points.

Default Ho Hum

How long is before the section of the population and fans that witnessed the original bands, that now have a tribute act(s), die out or get to old to move and therefore stop attending gigs like this, which in turn causes the demise of tribute acts? Is that possible or will we be bombarded with the next generation of 'rooted in a time' fans?

Entertaining evenings if thought of as a comedy/panto night!
"You listen to me. While I will admit to a certain cynicism, the fact is that I am a nay-sayer and hatchet man in the fight against violence. I pride myself in taking a punch and I'll gladly take another, because I choose to live my life in the company of Gandhi and King. My concerns are global. I reject absolutely revenge, aggression, and retaliation. The foundation of such a method…is love. I love you, Sheriff Truman"

Last edited by Jim Stax; 10-01-2007 at 13:08. Reason: Between typing and uploading the spelling goes all to shoite! Honest!
Jim Stax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 14:17   #4 (permalink)

lava p. is on a distinguished road with 10 reputation points.

bands: NONE
talents: NONE

great act, great guys and worth going to see.
lava p. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 14:43   #5 (permalink)
Biz

Biz is well respected with 70 reputation points.Biz is well respected with 70 reputation points.Biz is well respected with 70 reputation points.

Default Och cheer up ye miserablist

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twojoe View Post
How long is before the section of the population and fans that witnessed the original bands, that now have a tribute act(s), die out or get to old to move and therefore stop attending gigs like this, which in turn causes the demise of tribute acts? Is that possible or will we be bombarded with the next generation of 'rooted in a time' fans?

Entertaining evenings if thought of as a comedy/panto night!

Having a good time on stage, and dressing up, like the Damned have always done, is a hoot.
16 again meet old and new friends and get free beer, you should check us out, we are far better than a lot of the so called original artists bothering the fee paying public in Aberdeen. Ye didnae complain after seeing aka SKA, and 16 again are far more pantomime than them, Mon the panto shennanigans, it's got to be better than a this namby pamby miserablist emo pish, be punk as fuck - REVOLT NOW - HAVE FUN
Old 10-01-2007, 16:06   #6 (permalink)

betamax is a helpful contributor with 31 reputation points.betamax is a helpful contributor with 31 reputation points.

Male
bands: Ferrari Rocher
talents: Wall of Grind/Squelch/Bleep/Fuzz

Quote:
will we be bombarded with the next generation of 'rooted in a time' fans?
Indeed, I suspect there are hoards of Blink 182 and McFly tribute bands rehearsing at this very moment

The circle of shit

Like the Circle of Life out of Lion King but more realistic
betamax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 17:10   #7 (permalink)

Jim Stax is well respected with 61 reputation points.Jim Stax is well respected with 61 reputation points.Jim Stax is well respected with 61 reputation points.

Default Right then, gloves off ;)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Biz View Post
Having a good time on stage, and dressing up, like the Damned have always done, is a hoot.
16 again meet old and new friends and get free beer, you should check us out, we are far better than a lot of the so called original artists bothering the fee paying public in Aberdeen. Ye didnae complain after seeing aka SKA, and 16 again are far more pantomime than them, Mon the panto shennanigans, it's got to be better than a this namby pamby miserablist emo pish, be punk as fuck - REVOLT NOW - HAVE FUN
Yes I admit it to being in the same room as AKA SKA one, not much else to do, evening several months ago, and despite myself acknowledging they weren't half bad... That said I wouldn't 'ever' choose to knowingly attend gigs of this nature. I know it's fun, I appreciate and understand 'why' there is a market for it and that's my whole point, 'there is a market for it!'

And for the record I don't hold local tribute nights, the likes of which are coming up this weekend, as the same thing at all. More often than not these consist of performances based on re-interpretation of an artists original material. An entirley different and ever so slightly more 'creative' affair!

No I'm not a snob, I just like my music to have a smattering of creative input no matter how good or bad and nowt wrong with showing your influences (unless it's shite of course)

This is all said from a happy place by the way. Each to their own and all that... Just wish there was less of the 'creativity sapping, cultural draining pap' that's being passed off as worthy entertainment.

There!

"You listen to me. While I will admit to a certain cynicism, the fact is that I am a nay-sayer and hatchet man in the fight against violence. I pride myself in taking a punch and I'll gladly take another, because I choose to live my life in the company of Gandhi and King. My concerns are global. I reject absolutely revenge, aggression, and retaliation. The foundation of such a method…is love. I love you, Sheriff Truman"

Last edited by Jim Stax; 10-01-2007 at 17:13.
Old 10-01-2007, 17:41   #8 (permalink)

tomrogers7 is on a distinguished road with 10 reputation points.

Male
bands: dubs anonymous, ex contra
talents: Bass, Guitar, Decks

Quote:
Yes I admit it to being in the same room as AKA SKA one, not much else to do, evening several months ago, and despite myself acknowledging they weren't half bad... That said I wouldn't 'ever' choose to knowingly attend gigs of this nature. I know it's fun, I appreciate and understand 'why' there is a market for it and that's my whole point, 'there is a market for it!'

And for the record I don't hold local tribute nights, the likes of which are coming up this weekend, as the same thing at all. More often than not these consist of performances based on re-interpretation of an artists original material. An entirley different and ever so slightly more 'creative' affair!

No I'm not a snob, I just like my music to have a smattering of creative input no matter how good or bad and nowt wrong with showing your influences (unless it's shite of course)

This is all said from a happy place by the way. Each to their own and all that... Just wish there was less of the 'creativity sapping, cultural draining pap' that's being passed off as worthy entertainment.

There!

i have to agree that being a cover band is the safe/boring option- lots of money, easy to do - lets face it its getting harder and harder to come up with something absolutely fresh these days. I think its fine to have gigs like this, it doesnt aid new music and the evolution of it but there is definatley a market for it- for me it is more of a frustration at not having the original members or supporting rich hypocritical bastards.

However, this gig is purely just a thrash for folk who used to really like the music to come and go wild, I totally love to see the average 30-40's office worker get all punked up and jump around as if there 17. If theres lots of energy and soul in music its a good thing. I like these kind of gigs because at least it has a certain kind of mutual respect- new bands on the aberdeen music scene for instance dont recieve as much support or it is basically half assed.

I think it would be better if less cover bands did get to play, but I think its more the aberdeen music scene's fault that causes so many cover bands to come and play. It's better than putting on a crap band that bring hundreds of people but sound terrible wouldn't you say?

Tom

And you get to see Biz playing drums!
tomrogers7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 18:25   #9 (permalink)
Biz

Default you spik shite

He he he, you need plenty creative input to work out the drums to these wee beauties - it certainly takes more skill than thinking up completely new drum patterns.
If I had the chance to make money playing in a decent band I'd grab it, but for now I'll have a great time -although usually at a significant financial loss - due to travelling expenses, rehearsals, shit promoters etc.
Pick an hours set out of these if you think you are good enough, I'll gladly take the night off and sit making sarcastic remarks whilst you sweat your nads aff.
SAFE AND BORING? LIKE FUCK
999 Homicide
Adverts Gary Gilmore's Eyes
Alternative TV You Bastard
Anti Nowhere League So What?
Buzzcocks 16 Again
Buzzcocks Time's Up
Buzzcocks Autonomy
Buzzcocks Harmony In My Head
Buzzcocks Ever Fallen In Love
Chelsea I'm On Fire
Chelsea Evacuate
Clash Janie Jones
Clash 48 Hours
Clash Tommy Gun
Clash What's My Name?
Clash Safe European Home
Clash 1977
Clash Complete Control
Clash Guns Of Brixton
Clash White Man
Clash Hateful
Clash English Civil War
Clash London Calling
Clash White Riot
Cockney Rejects Bad Man
Damned New Rose
Damned Neat Neat Neat
Damned Love Song
Dead Boys Sonic Reducer
Dead Kennedys Let's Lynch The Landlord
Dead Kennedys Police Truck
Dead Kennedys Too Drunk To Fuck
Devo Uncontrollable Urge
Dictators Stay With Me
Gang Of Four I Found That Essence Rare
Generation X Ready Steady Go
Generation X King Rocker
Heartbreakers Chinese Rocks
Heartbreakers One Track Mind
Jam In The City
Jam "A" Bomb In Wardour Street
Killing Joke The Wait
King Kurt Destination Zululand
Magazine Shot By Both Sides
Magazine The Light Pours Out Of Me
Mekons Where Were You?
Members Sound Of The Suburbs
Professionals 1-2-3
Public Image Ltd Public Image
Ramones Rockaway Beach
Ramones Judy Is A Punk
Ramones I Wanna Be Sedated
Ramones Pinhead
Rezillos Head Kicked In Tonite
Rezillos Can't Stand My Baby
Ruts In A Rut
Ruts Staring At The Rude Boys
Saints I'm Stranded
Sex Pistols Submission
Sex Pistols Did You No Wrong
Sex Pistols New York
Sex Pistols Anarchy In The UK
Sham 69 Borstal Breakout
Spizz Energi Where's Captain Kirk?
Stiff Little Fingers Bloody Sunday
Stiff Little Fingers Gotta Getaway
Stiff Little Fingers Roots Radicals Rockers & Reggae
Stiff Little Fingers Nobodys Hero
Stiff Little Fingers It Doesn't Make It Alright
Stiff Little Fingers Alternative Ulster
Stooges I Wanna Be Your Dog
UK Subs Riot
Undertones Mars Bars
Wall Ghetto
Wire 12XU
Old 10-01-2007, 21:31   #10 (permalink)

Default Whaaaa ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Biz View Post
He he he, you need plenty creative input to work out the drums to these wee beauties - it certainly takes more skill than thinking up completely new drum patterns.
If I had the chance to make money playing in a decent band I'd grab it, but for now I'll have a great time although usually at a significant financial loss - due to travelling expenses, rehearsals, shit promoters etc.
Pick an hours set out of these if you think you are good enough, I'll gladly take the night off and sit making sarcastic remarks whilst you sweat your nads aff.
SAFE AND BORING? LIKE FUCK
999 Homicide
Adverts Gary Gilmore's Eyes
Alternative TV You Bastard
Anti Nowhere League So What?
Buzzcocks 16 Again
Buzzcocks Time's Up
Buzzcocks Autonomy
Buzzcocks Harmony In My Head
Buzzcocks Ever Fallen In Love
Chelsea I'm On Fire
Chelsea Evacuate
Clash Janie Jones
Clash 48 Hours
Clash Tommy Gun
Clash What's My Name?
Clash Safe European Home
Clash 1977
Clash Complete Control
Clash Guns Of Brixton
Clash White Man
Clash Hateful
Clash English Civil War
Clash London Calling
Clash White Riot
Cockney Rejects Bad Man
Damned New Rose
Damned Neat Neat Neat
Damned Love Song
Dead Boys Sonic Reducer
Dead Kennedys Let's Lynch The Landlord
Dead Kennedys Police Truck
Dead Kennedys Too Drunk To Fuck
Devo Uncontrollable Urge
Dictators Stay With Me
Gang Of Four I Found That Essence Rare
Generation X Ready Steady Go
Generation X King Rocker
Heartbreakers Chinese Rocks
Heartbreakers One Track Mind
Jam In The City
Jam "A" Bomb In Wardour Street
Killing Joke The Wait
King Kurt Destination Zululand
Magazine Shot By Both Sides
Magazine The Light Pours Out Of Me
Mekons Where Were You?
Members Sound Of The Suburbs
Professionals 1-2-3
Public Image Ltd Public Image
Ramones Rockaway Beach
Ramones Judy Is A Punk
Ramones I Wanna Be Sedated
Ramones Pinhead
Rezillos Head Kicked In Tonite
Rezillos Can't Stand My Baby
Ruts In A Rut
Ruts Staring At The Rude Boys
Saints I'm Stranded
Sex Pistols Submission
Sex Pistols Did You No Wrong
Sex Pistols New York
Sex Pistols Anarchy In The UK
Sham 69 Borstal Breakout
Spizz Energi Where's Captain Kirk?
Stiff Little Fingers Bloody Sunday
Stiff Little Fingers Gotta Getaway
Stiff Little Fingers Roots Radicals Rockers & Reggae
Stiff Little Fingers Nobodys Hero
Stiff Little Fingers It Doesn't Make It Alright
Stiff Little Fingers Alternative Ulster
Stooges I Wanna Be Your Dog
UK Subs Riot
Undertones Mars Bars
Wall Ghetto
Wire 12XU
Not one single second of creative thought needed to learn someone elses existing drum part. Don't make the age old error of mistaking ability for creativity. Again, strokes for folks. I'm not knocking anyones choice to do this by the way. I just can't abide it. May be an ingrained psychological glich being that my parents played three to four nights a week in a pub band when I was wee. It also may not be that, and it's my opinion that it's shite. Either way, who gives a fuck other than Biz...

Last edited by Jim Stax; 11-01-2007 at 09:46.