iconAll times are GMT. The time now is 04:21. | Welcome to aberdeen-music! Please register for free in order to access all areas of the web site and to post on our forums.

» Forums » Other Forums » General Discussion » N00b

General Discussion Forums for all discussion about everything else non-music or scene related.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 19-10-2007, 22:04   #1 (permalink)

wickedlittlegoblin is on a distinguished road with 10 reputation points.

Female
bands: Just AU orchestra
talents: flute, viola, fiddle, guitar, bass, a lil piano

Send a message via MSN to wickedlittlegoblin
Default N00b

hola folks... i'm a noob here and to aberdeen so just though I'd say hello and see what it's all about

how are we all this merry eve?

Megx
wickedlittlegoblin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2007, 02:11   #2 (permalink)

Lucky Rathen is an ambassador of goodwill with 99 reputation points.Lucky Rathen is an ambassador of goodwill with 99 reputation points.Lucky Rathen is an ambassador of goodwill with 99 reputation points.Lucky Rathen is an ambassador of goodwill with 99 reputation points.

1 Highscore

Male
bands: Cobra Kai / Elektron Monomachine
talents: guitar and singing off-key.

Well if nobody else is going to be polite and say hello, then I will!

Hello! I am fine this merry eve. Sweaty from band practice, and hungry. How is you fine self? How are you finding the Granite city? If you nose around the site you'll find plenty of posts about places to go, bands to see, good places to eat, nutters to avoid etc.

Lucky Rathen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2007, 02:34   #3 (permalink)

Diesel is an ambassador of goodwill with 78 reputation points.Diesel is an ambassador of goodwill with 78 reputation points.Diesel is an ambassador of goodwill with 78 reputation points.Diesel is an ambassador of goodwill with 78 reputation points.

Male
bands: HeadRush
talents: Guitar, Vocals

Hi there!

Welcome to the site and to the 'Deen

How are you coping with the absence of proper Glesca rolls?

It took me a while to adjust.

The local delicacy is The Rowie, which is essentially flour rolled in grease, then cremated - usually served with butter. It's the only thing on the planet that actually resisters as being 110% fat.

They are sometimes known as "Butteries" - but don't ask for them by that name. I did when I first moved up here and the response from the old dear behind the counter was (honest) "Butteries? Fit kind d'ye want aye noo? Double A, Triple A, or the wee square eens for yer smoke alarm".

You'll get used to the "U" for "A" thing (Punts/Pants, Bugs/Bags) and "I" for "E" (Wikks/Weeks, Brikks/Breeks) etc.

Oh! and I think there's a lass on here called "Nasty Little Midget" - you should get together!

Enjoy.
Diesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2007, 12:45   #4 (permalink)

Jan Deal is an honor to be around with 121 reputation points.Jan Deal is an honor to be around with 121 reputation points.Jan Deal is an honor to be around with 121 reputation points.Jan Deal is an honor to be around with 121 reputation points.Jan Deal is an honor to be around with 121 reputation points.

Male
bands: Panda Eyes; 1864 in Art
talents: Mainstream musical theatre

Send a message via MSN to Jan Deal

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paolo Angola View Post
You'll get used to the "U" for "A" thing (Punts/Pants, Bugs/Bags) and "I" for "E" (Wikks/Weeks, Brikks/Breeks)
When I first moved to Aberdeen, it took me a good few weeks to understand people with a thick Aberdonian accent..
Jan Deal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2007, 13:25   #5 (permalink)

black_matter is a helpful contributor with 49 reputation points.black_matter is a helpful contributor with 49 reputation points.

3 Highscores

Male
bands: black matter
talents: guitar

Send a message via MSN to black_matter

Hello and welcome. Hope everything goes fine for you up here
black_matter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2007, 13:19   #6 (permalink)

wickedlittlegoblin is on a distinguished road with 10 reputation points.

Female
bands: Just AU orchestra
talents: flute, viola, fiddle, guitar, bass, a lil piano

Send a message via MSN to wickedlittlegoblin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paolo Angola View Post
How are you coping with the absence of proper Glesca rolls?
haha I think that rowies more than make up for the lack of them!!!

QUOTE: You'll get used to the "U" for "A" thing (Punts/Pants, Bugs/Bags) and "I" for "E" (Wikks/Weeks, Brikks/Breeks) etc.

And yeah... the local lingo is taking some getting used to... I thought the broad weedgies were hard to understand at the best of times... although you did get strangely used to hearing "am gonnae chib yoo wi ma boa'le o' buckie"!!!
wickedlittlegoblin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2007, 15:20   #7 (permalink)

Diesel is an ambassador of goodwill with 78 reputation points.Diesel is an ambassador of goodwill with 78 reputation points.Diesel is an ambassador of goodwill with 78 reputation points.Diesel is an ambassador of goodwill with 78 reputation points.

Male

Quote:
Originally Posted by wickedlittlegoblin View Post

And yeah... the local lingo is taking some getting used to... I thought the broad weedgies were hard to understand at the best of times... although you did get strangely used to hearing "am gonnae chib yoo wi ma boa'le o' buckie"!!!
The ones the used to slay me were...and without any preamble whatsoever... "This is me since yistirday..." and "...ah wiz like 'at" (usually accompanied with a palm-down hand gesture, as if to explain what "..'at.." actually was.

And yes, ah've hud a "boa'le ay ginger and a pakkit ay criss fae the Van" on may occasions
Old 23-10-2007, 14:13   #8 (permalink)

Jake Wifebeater is an honor to be around with 138 reputation points.Jake Wifebeater is an honor to be around with 138 reputation points.Jake Wifebeater is an honor to be around with 138 reputation points.Jake Wifebeater is an honor to be around with 138 reputation points.Jake Wifebeater is an honor to be around with 138 reputation points.Jake Wifebeater is an honor to be around with 138 reputation points.

Male
bands: Wifebeater/Irritable Down Syndrome/Bastard Squad/Spike Pile Driver.
talents: This dreydel spins one way...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jan Deal View Post
When I first moved to Aberdeen, it took me a good few weeks to understand people with a thick Aberdonian accent..
Lived here all my life, still can't get a handle on the local accent. It's horrible.

Jake Wifebeater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2007, 16:10   #9 (permalink)

Pierre Von Mondragon is well respected with 58 reputation points.Pierre Von Mondragon is well respected with 58 reputation points.Pierre Von Mondragon is well respected with 58 reputation points.

Male
bands: ex A.K.A. The Fox (RIP), Mondragon, Double Disc and Z Rod
talents: Guitar, Sequencer;... the future

I would slaughter hundreds for a rowie just now, I like to noise up the native at my work by referring to Aberdeen as The Glorious City Itself, which it is. I have yet to find a decent baker in the Weej, they're all hooked on Satanic Greggs, fools.
Pierre Von Mondragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2007, 16:18   #10 (permalink)

Male

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pierre Von Mondragon View Post
I would slaughter hundreds for a rowie just now, I like to noise up the native at my work by referring to Aberdeen as The Glorious City Itself, which it is. I have yet to find a decent baker in the Weej, they're all hooked on Satanic Greggs, fools.
Where's "Unthank"